One to get ready…

A love of nature informs a great deal of my work, whether pen and ink or painted in inks and watercolours or digitally. But I was not expecting the effort involved in the work I’ve just finished. It all began simply enough … a pen and ink on almost transparent paper. Transparent because I had “PLANS“!!!

Pen and ink

Pen and ink on transparent paper

The pen and ink finished I began my ‘Grand Plan’. On the back of this sheet of mostly transparent paper, I used water-colour pencils to gentle colour and shade. Then I set it aside.

TWO TO GO….

Next step… Some beautiful Fabiano paper which I proceeded to paint in matching tones in coloured inks and some water-colour.

Holding my breath and crossing my fingers, I fused these together and waited while this ‘set’ and dried completely. Once all that was done, I then painted the top layer in more inks, allowing some of the underneath layers to show through.

COPYRIGHT JENIROSE HALL - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Finally, after many hours and anxious moments – finished

And finally it was done, and I was ‘done’ as well. I won’t be repeating that process as it took so long and was subject to far too many imponderables and the chance of ruining both drawing and painting too high. But I’m glad I did it this once if only to learn what not to do again.

THREE FOR THE SHOW…

But it did inspire me to pull out a half-finished drawing and complete it. This sat around for nearly two years and I was on the point of throwing it out. The skin tone was driving me crazy. Finally at 2 am I had it where I wanted it and heaved a huge sigh of relief.

COPYRIGHT JENIROSE HALL - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

She’s the Lady of the Lillies and she finally had the skin tone needed and I was tired but happy 🙂

It was originally twice this size with more lillies and that was one of the things that was distracting me. Sometimes savage cropping is necessary to reveal what a painting is really all about. Once I took that step and cropped all unnecessary edges her ‘look’ was all important. That faraway gaze was suddenly central to the painting and the painting I was all set to throw away became something worth holding on to, at least I thought so once it was done.

And finally, a digitally painted ‘nature’ image to round things out and to make up for being away for some time and not being able to post 🙂

JENIROSE HALL ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Goddess of Winter blowing kisses to Spring as she fades into the background and Spring showers her with blossoms.

I'd be happy to hear your thoughts

