Gifts for the Grandchildren _ The Ugly Duckling

I wonder just how many young women (and not so young) identify with this story? As strange as it may sound, though I loved the story; thought swans the most graceful and beautiful of creatures, as well as fiercely protective of their young (to the point of being dangerous)… I never remembered that the end of The Ugly Duckling story was… well… a swan! It took the words of Clarissa Pincola Estes’ Women Who run with the Wolves to remind me and wake me up!

This is going into my altered book for the grandchildren. Partly it’s my story but I hope my daughter’s children will see beyond the duckling stage in others and encourage the swan. They will all, I hope and trust, recognise their own ‘swan’ nature. Gender is irrelevant. I remember telling my daughter when she was a sweet little girl, how very beautiful she was but that external beauty was not earned, it was a gift. Enjoy the gift but remember, that’s what it is – a gift! She is still beautiful, outside. Far more importantly, as gorgeous as she is, her beauty is something warm and wonderful within. No amount of cosmetics or surgery can ‘implant’ that. Internal beauty remains long after external beauty fades.

From a very early age Emmy had a compassionate as well as practical nature. How wonderful is that? Her career and her partnership has fostered that. When the time comes she is going to be a wonderful mum. Add to that a sizeable intelligence and a willingness to work with and not against her partner and love, and … well kids… you’ve got a great start.

COPYRIGHT Jenirose Hall ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

COPYRIGHT Jenirose Hall
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

And two sweet moments with thanks to the buyers, in once case, multiple:

Happy creating, and remember, you don’t have to produce ‘perfect’ art, just LOVE what you’re doing and it will show. 🙂

Zazzle Tshirt ALL RIGHTS RESERVED: COPYRIGHT JENIROSE HALL

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED : copyright JENIROSE HALL

I'd be happy to hear your thoughts

